Posted in Uncategorized

Live at last!

Sunday 8th November, 2015 and after a premature start we’re off and the blog is live to the whole world.

As you will see the site is still very much at a development stage and I haven’t the faintest idea where it will end up. I’m a novice to postcard collecting and have only come to it through an interest in Irish landscape art – so bear with me.

Salthill Hotel JOTTER

Speaking of art, I recently purchased the ultra rare “Jotter” postcard (above) on eBay for all of €2.24! It’s one of a number that he painted in the Dun Laoghaire area and it’s the first one that I’ve ever come across on eBay or elsewhere.

As for the reason for the blog, well there’s nothing else available – unless you know something that I’ve missed in my searching. Sadly, there seems to be no postcard collectors club in the Republic at all and I can’t make contact with anybody involved with the Northern Ireland Postcard Club.

So, for the time being I will continue to plough my solitary furrow and post my own finds, research and pictures. I would be delighted to receive any contributions, suggestions and, inevitably, corrections. An email to me at collectireland@gmail.com will always receive a reply.

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

